Finally Found Evernote, My Cloud of Words

I’m a frequent victim of the ‘cult of the new’. I’m constantly on the lookout for new apps or services that will make my life better (or at least seem so). I just discovered the value of Evernote this past week. I have seen Evernote mentioned countless times, and have even checked into it a couple of times, but was never sure how I’d make real use of it.

My understanding of Evernote in my previous looks was more aligned with the productivity and organization aspects. I resisted adding another productivity ‘tool’ that would ‘help’ me organize and track better. I have found that those apps tend to create rules that don’t mesh with my dynamic way of getting it done. Also, I really don’t want the chore of filing, distraction of more reminders, or overhead of checking things off the list. I got it wrong.

Along with starting this blog, I realized that I needed a way to really track my research, reading, and writing. So, I set out to find the ‘Dropbox’ of words. I am a fan of Dropbox and have used it with my family for a couple of years. It’s a great way to keep all of the files on different computers in sync and make sure they are available wherever you need to access them, including phones and tablets. Dropbox was my first real glimpse into the value of cloud services.

I checked evernote again and realized that it seems to be the cloud of words, with some organization and media capabilities added on. So, I’ve signed on, connected Zite, my favorite news reader, and started dropping articles into my Ever-notebook. I’ve also started keeping my list of blog ideas, and used it to author my blog entries.

So far, it seems to be the cloud of words that I was seeking. I have had to work out how to get the full articles into the notebook when sending from Zite and it takes a few extra steps, but otherwise it has been quite easy to work, has a simple way to organize into notebooks, and the tagging and search will hopefully help me find things long from now when I just want to refer back to something I know I saved somewhere.

I would love to hear from others that are using Evernote and please offer some tips for where and how to make the best use of it. Also, I’m using the free version, so I’m curious if others can share why they have chosen to upgrade or not.

Word!

About DrewWilken

Mobile Phone Product Planner. God and Family. Photography, Mobile Technology, Cars, Games, Gadgets, Design. I'm just a geek with my own perspective.

Posted on January 22, 2013, in Experience Design, Mobile Tech, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Design With Soul

Design # User experience # Craftmanship

Kyocera News Reel

Daily news about Kyocera Communications & the wireless industry

RAMI EL-ASHI

EXPERIMENTS IN LIFESTYLE DESIGN

Grumblings of a Yorkshireman

Eat all, drink all, pay nowt. Ear all, see all, say nowt...

retail must burn!

design strategies on how to stand out in an over saturated market / by Régis Péan

Proto Partners Service Design Blog

Make Every Experience Count

Duskpony

...rants on design, user experience

EverFaith

Words about faith, life, love, and the journey

Return On Customer Experience

An Exploration of All Things Experience

MDH Mark D Hogan

Brand Marketing Blog

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Adam Coomes

tech | rants | stuff

DrewWilken

Just a geek with my own perspective...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

